The Classical Duke Ellington

World-renowned big band Echoes Of Ellington present a special programme focusing on Duke Ellington’s and Billy Strayhorn’s re-imaginings of Grieg’s Peer Gynt Suite and Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Suite first performed by Duke’s great orchestra in 1960. Alongside this, bandleader and arranger Pete Long has written new Duke-flavoured arrangements on Holst’s The Planets. Listening to Echoes Of Ellington perform all three suites will be the closest one could come to experiencing the glory and excitement of the original Duke Ellington band.

Peter Long – clarinet/musical director

Nathan Bray – trumpet

Ryan Quigley – trumpet

Mark Armstrong – trumpet

Louis Dowdeswell – trumpet

Andy Flaxman – trombone

Callum Au – trombone

Chris Traves – trombone

Colin Skinner – alto saxophone

Simon Marsh – alto saxophone

Mike Hall – tenor saxophone

Paul Nathaniel – tenor saxophone

Jay Craig – baritone saxophone

Colin Good – piano

Joe Pettitt – bass

Richard Pite – drums

Milly Forrest – voice

BOOK TICKETS (St George’s)

EARLY BIRD – 10% OFF if booked before 25 Dec 2018